Why Ask Questions?

There is an age old question, that I always found intriguing. A question I must admit, though intriguing, I never quit understood.

I understood that it creates an awareness that there is order to things. A place for everything and everything in its place.

But not the logic of asking the question in the first place – I thought the answer fairly obvious. Making the question clearly rhetorical in nature.

The question is: What came first, the Chicken, or the Egg?

On a very subconscious level, I would presume we all have an idea of the process of things. A process, which would indeed make this question irrelevant.

The issue, is that a part of the equation is missing from the question. There are – or should be – three pivotal points in that equation.

First: The Chicken

Second: The Progenitor – in this case the Cockerel.

The results: The Egg

I shall endeavour to shed some light on where I am going with this  questions on whether or not the Chicken or the Egg came first.

It should be obvious, the one that came first must have been the Cock – erel. A Cockerel is what is known in layman’s terms as a Rooster.

While there are many animals in nature that produce asexually – I say many ,but I know none. However, I know, poultry is not among that subset of animals.

Based on this I would assume there must be a chicken and a cockerel to create and egg. You may find this to be crude. The questions is: can you disagree with my conclusion?

Mind you, I never arrived at this conclusion on my own. My aunt , a very demure woman. Had a T-shirt which engineered my arriving at this obviously very “profound” answer.

The T-shirt read: THE BIGGER THE COCK.. THE BRIGHTER THE MORNING.

If you have ever been in a rural area that had a Cockerel. You would have noted their obstreperous nature early in the morning.

However, their obstreperousness has nothing to do with what was on that T-shirt.

If you cannot figure out what it means, or how it led me to this point. You are obviously too young to be reading this.

Ciao!

Leave a Reply

