The Jaded Optimist

Man of Steel poster

It has been a while since my brain has short circuited from cognitive palpitations.
But, I must confess, the new Superman film has me shaking with unreserved excitement.

I have just seen the latest Trailer:

I know that a trailer is never always a positive or truthful compendium of a films worth.
There have been numerous time in which I have been excited for a film; by virtue of its trailer. Only to have my excitement and optimism dashed against the sun bleached rocks of reality.

I remember seeing the trailer for Aeon Flux. Then Rushing to the theatre to see it when it was released. You cannot imaging the pain in my soul when it was revealed to me; the trailer was composed of the only interesting scenes in the movie.

So while I am aware I should be cautiously excited. I have thrown caution to the winds. Like a virgin seeing a pudendum for the first time.

Why am I so excited?

I will be the first to admit that I have not followed directors to influence which movies I watch. However, of late, I find this method to be increasingly successful.

One of the main reasons I am interested in this film is due to Christopher Nolan; the director of “The Dark Knight” trilogy. I found his interpretation of that universe to be incredibly character driven. While he isn’t the director of “Man of Steel” (he is the producer). Any influence he has on a film is better than none (not to discount the director of course).

Already “Man of Steel” is shaping up to be more than: “over powered hero wows world, saves the day and barely messes up his designer coiffure. While turning back time should anything go wrong,or anything to prevent him from sleeping with his love interest”.

Clark seems to be more human. I realise the irony of the statement. However, previous iterations of superman had Clark being “alien Buddha”. He never lied – don’t quote me on this- always did the right thing, always willing to help, etc. While this demonstrates all the admirable traits we want in a hero. It makes for a flat and boring character. So I am hoping things have changed for the better on this score.

One other main reason why I am so intrigued. Is due to the fact that… – and wait for it- there is no Kryptonite in the film. I have always found it a tad contrived how someone as powerful as Superman, can be rendered useless by a piece of rock no larger than a penny. Obviously, had it been needed in large quantities; I would not mind. Moreover, Kryptonite is supposed to be a “rare” mineral. Seeing as it is not from Earth. Would have travelled from so far away, that not much of it should be on Earth in the first place. Yet, every dog – Lex – and his uncle seems to pick up Kyrptonite; like your adolescent son picks up rocks to throw at anything that moves.

I think it is also important to mention. That I am also excited that Superman no longer wears his bright crimson underwear …on the outside of his outfit. The redesign of the suit- that bears a similar resemblance to the material use for the suit for “Amazing Spider-man – no longer has superman wearing is underclothes on the outside. It may seem like a trivial thing.

However, that suit needed to have a redesign ages ago. A grown man should know the order of dressing himself (especially when he is a highly visible social persona). Imagine you child’s new obsession being superman. Then demanding to wear brightly coloured underwear over their jeans to replicate his image?

Man of Steel is to be released sometime in June. Out of all the super hero movies to be released this year. I am cautiously optimistic that Man of Steel will be the best among them.
Hopefully, you all have a interest in seeing it in the theatres.
Ciao! ( I am tempted to quote Reborn on this)

Leave a Reply

